Skip to main content



Board of Education

Meet Our School Board

Mr. Tim Swauger

Tim Swauger
Board President

Tim Swauger has added his expertise to the Johnstown-Monroe School Board for more than three years.  A graduate of Niles McKinley High School, Tim and his wife Beth, a Johnstown graduate, built a home and moved to Johnstown in 2005 where they reside with their son Evan.

A valuable member of the board, Tim brings expertise to the board in several areas.  His knowledge of infrastructure, traffic control, and site planning continues to bring constructive resolution to our challenges in building our new schools.

Elected: 01/2022

Phone: (614) 907-2369
Email: [email protected]

Mrs. Amanda Davis

Amanda Davis
Board Vice President

Amanda brings an extensive knowledge of child development to the Board as a licensed Social Worker for over a decade. In 2015, Amanda was recognized with the Child Advocate of the Year award by Public Children Services Agency of Ohio. Child advocacy remains the heart of her work as she trains Child Welfare professionals throughout the state of Ohio. Amanda is a graduate of The Ohio State University.
Amanda and her husband moved to Johnstown in 2012 to make a permanent home where they reside with their three sons. They enjoy volunteering in the community with their children’s activities; her husband serves as Treasurer for the local Cub Scout Pack.
Elected: 01/2020
Term Expires: 12/31/2027

Phone: 740-405-4879
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Alan Benton

Alan Benton
Alan Benton, a four-year veteran of the Johnstown-Monroe School Board brings a wealth of knowledge to the Board through his experience as an entrepreneur in the business world. Owner and President of ISO Technologies, Inc, Alan is an authority on polyurethane foams used in commercial construction, transportation and medical applications.

He graduated from Georgia Tech, with a  Bachelor of Science in degree in Chemistry. He also graduated from the University of Virginia with a Masters Degree in Chemical Engineering which complimented his MBS from Lynchburg University.

Re Elected: 01/2020
Term Expires: 12/31/2027

Phone: (740) 967-7790
Email: [email protected]

Mrs. Ruth Ann Booher

Ruth Ann Booher
Ruth Ann Booher brings a strong business background to the Board of Education. Her experience in serving on the Johnstown-Monroe School Board for a total of more than 17 years is grounded by her professional experience including, serving as Deputy Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce, The Director of Development for St. Ann's Hospital, and a consultant for the Ohio Department of Health. Additionally, she was employed by three members of Congress. Currently, she owns a small business and enjoys spending time with her family.

Elected: 01/2022
Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Phone: (740) 967-5000
Email: [email protected]

Mrs. Anne Thomas

Anne Thomas
Following Allan’s retirement from the United States Army, Anne and her husband, relocated to Johnstown to raise their family.  Providing countless volunteer hours to several school programs, Anne decided to take the next step and run for the Johnstown Monroe School Board.  As a new board member, Anne will bring extensive knowledge and expertise to the school system.

Anne Thomas has been employed as a core analyst and senior engineer for Centurylink for the past 25 years and will offer vast knowledge in contract negotiations, strategic planning and telecommunications.

The parents of three children, two of whom attend Johnstown Schools. Anne's hobbies include fishing, traveling, and family activities. She enjoys working on  4-H club projects with her daughter, Amanda and is looking forward to the high school graduation of their son, Adam.

Elected: 01/2020
Term Expires: 12/31/2027

Phone: 931-801-3755
Email: [email protected]

2024 Board Committees